Skip to main content

Automotive Panel and Paint: Databases

Getting started

These databases assist you to find articles in serials / journals. 

1   Create a search strategy using key words

2   Select the most relevant database

3   Try different search terms

4   Refine your search using the date, language, publisher etc... limiters on the left hand side of the database.

5   Ask a librarian for help if you are not locating useful information and come to a database workshop.

Research tips

How to do research?
  1. Choose a research topic
  2. Create a search strategy using keywords
  3. Find information, e.g., databases, ebooks, websites, Google Scholar and print resources
  4. Evaluate information. Check for:  Authority: Does the information come from a a reliable source?  Accuracy: Can the information be verified by a credible source?  Relevance: Does the information meet your specific needs and it is within your research scope?         Objective: Is the information free from bias or hidden agendas?                  Currency: Is the information up to date?
  5. Cite your resources using APA referencing

General/Other

Australian/New Zealand Reference Centre

The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to libraries in Oceania. This database includes leading Australia/NZ periodicals and international periodicals in full text; full text reference books; over 80,000 full text biographies and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Provides complete text of Encyclopaedia Britannica with search capabilities, related links, and multimedia enhancements.

MasterFILE Premier EBSCOHOST

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, and is updated daily.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. 

Acts and Legislation

This database holds all the Acts and laws passed by the New Zealand Parliament.

Safety Hub

This database contains videos related to health and safety issues.

Standards New Zealand

A list of product and service standards can be found in this database.  You will need to agree to the conditions before you can access the page.

Subject areas include health and disability, construction and building, environmental management, legal risk, information technology, sport and recreation to name a few.