LibGuides: Medical Imaging Technology (MIT): Databases

Getting Started

These databases assist you to find articles in serials (also known as journals or periodicals).

First - decide on useful and relevant keywords or search terms, for example medical imaging, radiology, MRI.

Next - select a relevant database/s

Suggestion - try different keywords or search terms, for example diagnostic imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, computed tomography, CT scan.

Consider - refining your search. Is there a date Limit? Do you want research articles only?

Need help - ask a Librarian if you are not locating relevant information.

EBSCOhost ~ all subjects This link opens in a new window
Select and Search multiple databases on the EBSCOhost platform for Articles, Journals, eBooks and more.
Database subject areas include: Applied Sciences & Technology, Art and Architecture, ANZ Reference Centre, Business, CINAHL ultimate, Education, Engineering, Environment, ERIC Health source, Hospitality & Tourism, Humanities, LGBTQ+, Library, Medline , Nursing, Psychology, Sociology, Sport & Exercise, Science, Veterinary and Vocational Studies.

View a complete A-Z list of Databases available to UCOL staff and students.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Ministry of Health provides free access within New Zealand to The Cochrane Collaboration, which is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable collection of over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect College Edition offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.
SMART Imagebase This link opens in a new window
Download thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.