These databases assist you to find articles in serials (also known as journals or periodicals).
First - decide on useful and relevant keywords or search terms, for example - submaximal, VO2max.
Next - select a relevant database/s
Suggestion - try adding or using different keywords or search terms, for example - cardiovascular, respiratory, aerobic fitness, exercise.
Consider - refining your search. Is there a date Limit? Do you want research articles only?
Need help - ask a Librarian if you are not locating relevant information.
Image Source CC0 Creative Commons
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
The Ministry of Health provides free access within New Zealand to The Cochrane Collaboration, which is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
Download thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.
New Zealand databases
The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to libraries in Oceania. This database includes leading Australia/NZ periodicals and international periodicals in full text; full text reference books; over 80,000 full text biographies and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags.
