LWW Health Library - Exercise Science Collection 
This collection of eBooks is focusing on areas such as exercise physiology, biomechanics, sports psychology, strength and conditioning, motor control and the ACSM’s Certification Suite - that all students enrolled in Exercise Science need.
Doping in Sports by
Behind the fame of big-time sports lies a complex web of controversy and deceit. Doping—the use of banned performance-enhancing drugs (PEDs) to gain a competitive athletic edge—is common in many sports. While doping can improve performance, it poses huge risks for athletes' health and careers
Women in Sports by
Women in Sports features groundbreaking figures in golf, basketball, soccer, figure skating, and many other sports. Compelling text and vivid photographs bring these women to life.
Sports Medicine 2e by
Covering topics pertinent to (and found on) the Sports Medicine board examination, the book is intended as a primary study tool for candidates preparing for the exam or re-certification. All of the subject areas tested on the boards are represented, including basic science and general procedures, health promotion and preventive interventions, emergency assessment and care, and diagnosis, management, and treatment of the full range of sports-related injuries and conditions.
Sport: A biological, philosophical, and cultural perspective by
In Sport, the neuroscientist Jay Schulkin argues that biology and culture do more than coexist when we play sports—they blend together seamlessly, propelling each other toward greater physical and intellectual achievement.
Concussions in Athletics by
Sports related concussions and the implications of short-and long-term outcomes is a concern to athletes, parents, coaches, academics, and health care professionals. Leading clinicians and scientists across a variety of fields have come together to collaborate around topics related to concussion education, assessment, management and treatment of head injuries that occur in sports.
Golf Anatomy by
This one-of-a-kind guide, developed over 15 years of working with professional golfers, will show you how to lower your score by increasing strength, power, and range of motion for longer drives and more accurate shots
Running Anatomy by
This new edition of the best-selling running guide delivers more exercises, more insight, and more illustrations to show you how to increase your muscle strength, optimize the efficiency of your running motion, and minimize your risk of injury. Running Anatomy features 48 of the most effective strength exercises for runners, each with clear step-by-step descriptions and full-color anatomical illustrations highlighting the muscles in action.
Essentials of Human Anatomy & Physiology by
Focus on the essential what, how, & why of human anatomy & physiology
Persuasion and Communication in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity by
How can we use persuasion methods to make people more physically active and improve their sport and exercise experiences? How can instructors, coaches, athletes, and practitioners most effectively communicate their messages to others? Persuasion and Communication in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity is the first book to consider the applications of persuasion frameworks within activity-related contexts, while also summarizing the major developments relating to communication topics in these settings.
Diabetes and Exercise by
This comprehensive and practical text brings together the latest guidelines and recommendations on the benefits of exercise and physical activity in the management of diabetes and its complications, providing both the researcher and practitioner with evidence-based information that is both theoretically and clinically useful.
Nutrition and Performance in Master Athletes by
Addresses the Aging Process and Its Effect on Sports Performance. Age-related changes influence all physiological systems, including those used during exercise and sport.
Posture by
This book presents an overview of human posture and focuses on how it can be influenced by a number of sporting and physical activities as well as biomechanical, physiological, and psycho-sociological factors
Research in Sport Psychology by
Athletic performance has three parts: physical preparation, technical skill, and psychological readiness. This model suggests that if any of the above areas are neglected, athletic performance will decline. However, psychological preparation is the component that is most often neglected by athletes and coaches alike.
Ageing, Physical Activity, Recreation and Wellbeing by
This book will serve to raise awareness of ways of healthy ageing that are facilitated by different forms of, and approaches to, physical activity, exercise and recreation. It presents a collection of studies focusing on the effectiveness of different methods that promote an active lifestyle among communities and older people in general.
Sociology of Sport by
The Sociology of Sport has grown since its inception in the late 1950s and has become robust, and diverse. Many countries now boast strong scholars in the field and this volume reflects the fascinating research being done. This innovative volume is dedicated to a review of the state of the area by region, and country in some cases. For instance, Latin America is expanding widely in the field, and Korea and Japan have had vibrant Sociology of Sport communities for some time.
Laboratory and Field Exercises in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics by
Laboratory and Field Exercises in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics is the first book to fully integrate practical work into an introduction to the fundamental principles of sport and exercise biomechanics. The book concisely and accessibly introduces the discipline of biomechanics and describes the fundamental methods of analysing and interpreting biomechanical data, before fully explaining the major concepts underlying linear kinematics, linear kinetics, angular kinematics, angular kinetics and work, energy and power.
Young Runners at the Top by
Young Runners at the Top: A Training, Racing, and Lifestyle Guide for Competitors and Coaches provides helpful instructions and suggestions for runners of all abilities. Drawing on their experiences as coaches and runners, authors Brad Hudson, Lize Brittin, and Kevin Beck offer insights into how pre-teens and teens can become faster and stronger athletes.
Writing and Publishing Research in Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science by 
Sports Biomechanics - The Basics by
Each chapter is devoted to a single area of the subject and details scientific underpinnings of sports performance; this edition features a new chapter on human gait (walking and running) as well as new information on the latest topics in sport biomechanics. An absolutely essential resource for any student, athlete or fitness professional involved in the field of sports biomechanics.
Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology by
This concise, engaging text, distinguished by its skillful integration of theory and practice, addresses the key principles of sport, exercise, and performance psychology. It reflects the broadening of sport psychology studies to encompass more widespread human performance research.
Body Composition by
Interest in the relationships between body structure and function in physical activity has persisted for centuries. Body Composition: Health and Performance in Exercise and Sport advances understanding beyond simple descriptions of body physique and composition of athletes and fills gaps in our understanding of the important role of muscle, fat, and bone in facilitating physical performance and health in sports and physically demanding occupations.
Introduction to Exercise Science by
The fifth edition of Introduction to Exercise Science introduces students to every core area of study in the discipline. It comprises concise chapters which introduce the history, key lines of inquiry relating to both health and performance, technology, certifications, professional associations, and career opportunities associated with each area.
Handbook of Disability Sport and Exercise Psychology by
In this volume, Martin, an accomplished professor of sport and exercise psychology, shines a light on a variety of topics ranging from philosophy, athletic identity, participation motivation, quality of life, social and environmental barriers, body image, and intellectual impairments among many other issues.
An Introduction to Statistical Analysis in Research by
Provides well-organized coverage of statistical analysis and applications in biology, kinesiology, and physical anthropology with comprehensive insights into the techniques and interpretations of R, SPSS®, Excel®, and Numbers® output
Nutritional Supplements in Sport, Exercise and Health by
Nutritional Supplements in Sport, Exercise and Health is the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to dietary supplements, ergogenic aids and sports nutrition foods currently available. Consisting of over 140 evidence-based review articles written by world-leading research scientists and practitioners, the book aims to dispel the misinformation that surrounds supplements and supplementation, offering a useful, balanced and unbiased resource.
Anatomy of Sports Injuries for Fitness and Rehabilitation by
With a comprehensive and up-to-date approach to injury rehabilitation, this book shows you how to find the cause of injuries, and not just treat the bit that hurts, aiding in the prevention of future injuries also
Sport Participation by
In this book, the authors gather and present current research in the study of the health benefits, injuries and psychological effects of sport participation. Topics discussed include the factors that are most influential in children's decisions to drop out of organized sport; the role of injury and injury risk perceptions in sport participation and the long term impact of overuse injuries on life-long participation in sports and health status.
ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness and Health by
This edition contains age-specific advice within the framework of the latest research, thus helping you to avoid the lure of fads, unfounded myths, and misinformation. You will learn these strategies: Incorporate the latest guidelines for physical activity and nutrition into your daily routine to improve your fitness and overall health. Optimize your weight and increase strength, flexibility, aerobic fitness, and functional fitness. Improve health and manage conditions such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, cancer, depression, osteoporosis, arthritis, pregnancy, and Alzheimer's disease through exercise and nutrition. Monitor, evaluate, and tailor your exercise program for optimal results
Leading Teams by
How do the sports world's most successful coaches instill their teams with esprit de corps, a collaborative mindset, and an unbeatable desire to win? More importantly, what can business leaders and managers learn from their example? This book answers these and a host of key questions about what it takes to be a successful leader in business or in sports.
Managing Major Sports Events by
The hosting of major sporting events can be a key tool in the development of cities and countries around the world. If carried out effectively these events can not only bring prestige to an area but can leave the local population with a legacy of improved infrastructure and facilities. Managing Major Sports Events: Theory and Practice is a complete introduction to the principles and practical skills that underpin the running and hosting of major sports events, from initial bid to post-event legacy.
Sports Performance Measurement and Analytics by
This is the first real-world guide to building and using analytical models for measuring and assessing performance in the five major sports: football, basketball, baseball, soccer, and tennis. Unlike books that focus strictly on theory, this book brings together sports measurement and statistical analyses, demonstrating how to examine differences across sports as well as between player positions. This book will provide you with the tools for cutting-edge approaches you can extend to the sport of your choice.
Statistics for Sport and Exercise Studies by
Statistics for Sport and Exercise Studies guides the student through the full research process, from selecting the most appropriate statistical procedure, to analysing data, to the presentation of results, illustrating every key step in the process with clear examples, case-studies and data taken from real sport and exercise settings. Every chapter includes a range of features designed to help the student grasp the underlying concepts and relate each statistical procedure to their own research project, including definitions of key terms, practical exercises, worked examples and clear summaries.
Sports Analytics and Data Science by
Sports Analytics and Data Science is the most accessible and practical guide to sports analytics for everyone who cares about winning and everyone who is interested in data science. You’ll discover how successful sports analytics blends business and sports savvy, modern information technology, and sophisticated modeling techniques. You’ll master the discipline through realistic sports vignettes and intuitive data visualizations—not complex math.
You Win in the Locker Room First by
Step by step, the authors outline a strategy for building a thriving organization and provide a practical framework that give leaders the tools they need to create a great culture, lead with the right mindset, create strong relationships, improve teamwork, execute at a higher level, and avoid the pitfalls that sabotage far too many leaders and organizations.
No Sweat by
We start out with the best intentions. We're going to exercise more and get in shape! Then five days a week at the gym turns into two... then becomes none. We hit the snooze button and skip the morning run. So what's the solution? To achieve lasting fitness, we have to change our minds—before we can change our bodies. In No Sweat, Segar shows us how. Translating twenty years of research on exercise and motivation into a simple four-point program, she helps readers broaden their definition of exercise, find pleasure in physical activity, and discover realistic ways to fit it into their lives
Crunch Time by
Nobody knows pressure like a major league baseball pitcher—an entire game can rest on a single pitch. For years, Rick Peterson has helped some of baseball's finest excel in this kind of intense situation. In Crunch Time, he and leadership expert Judd Hoekstra share Rick's secret. It's called reframing—it enables you to see a pressure situation with a new perspective so that it shifts from a threat that can make you panic to an opportunity for you to shine. Rick and Judd offer six powerful reframing strategies, with fascinating behind-the-scenes examples from Rick's work with some of the top names in sports. Learn how elite athletes perform their best under pressure and how you too can perform and be your best when it matters most.
Developing Sport Expertise by
The development of an athlete from basic performance to elite level is a long and complicated process. This fully revised and updated new edition of the leading introduction to expertise in sport examines the fundamental science of skill acquisition and explores the methods by which science can be applied in the real-world context of sport performance.