Use this ABC evaluation checklist when searching for information on the Internet.
Is the information form a reliable source? Does the author have appropriate qualifications, background and knowledge of the subject? Where is the document published and who published it? Check the accuracy - how does the site compare to other sources?
Check the website address (URL = Uniform Resource Locator) to verify the origin of the site:
Why do you think the information was written? What opinions, if any, are expressed by the author? Does it provide a balanced view of the topic or is there an obvious bias promoted by the publisher or author? Who is the intended audience? Where is the document published?
When was the information written or recorded? Is the information up-to-date for the topic? Are the site links up-to-date, are they relevant and do they work?
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by 
The Human Body in Health and Illness by 
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease by 
An Introductory guide to anatomy & physiology by 
Human Anatomy & Physiology by 
Microbiology: an introduction by 
Biochemistry for Health professionals by 
Davis's Basic Math Review for Nurses by 
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
The Ministry of Health provides free access within New Zealand to The Cochrane Collaboration, which is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
Select and Search multiple databases on the EBSCOhost platform for Articles, Journals, eBooks and more.
Database subject areas include: Applied Sciences & Technology, Art and Architecture, ANZ Reference Centre, Business, CINAHL ultimate, Education, Engineering, Environment, ERIC Health source, Hospitality & Tourism, Humanities, LGBTQ+, Library, Medline , Nursing, Psychology, Sociology, Sport & Exercise, Science, Veterinary and Vocational Studies.
Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, computer science, fine arts, diversity studies, entrepreneurship, health and medicine, leadership management, nursing and allied health, physical therapy and sports medicine, and science databases. Also included are Environmental Studies in Context, Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and Science in Context.
Free access to New Zealand legislation, including NZ Acts, Bills, Regulations, and glossary as well as a guide to using the New Zealand Legislation website.
This resource is a searchable collection of over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect College Edition offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.
Download thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.
