LibGuides: Visual Arts: eResources

Images

DigitalNZ
Ensure that you check the copyright statement before use.
freeimages.co.uk
A stock photo database.
Vecteezy
Choose the licenses 'Creative Commons' or 'Commercial'.

Google Images

How to avoid copyright breaches while using Google Images:

1) Search for an image in Google Images

2) Click on Tools at the top of the page

3) Click on Usage Rights

4) Select Labeled for reuse - these images are usually from the Public Domain or Creative Commons.

5) Click on the image to see the terms of use and get the URL of the source page.

Databases

Academic Search Complete - EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Art & Architecture Complete ~ EBSCOhost

Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Gale - all subjects

Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, computer science, fine arts, diversity studies, entrepreneurship, health and medicine, leadership management, nursing and allied health, physical therapy and sports medicine, and science databases. Also included are Environmental Studies in Context, Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and Science in Context.