LibGuides: Early Childhood: Databases

Getting started

These databases assist you to find articles in serials (also known as journals or periodicals).

Firstly - Decide on useful and
relevant keywords or search terms

e.g. Child development,
Learning theorists, Learning

Next - Select a relevant database/s to begin searching

Suggestion - Try different keywords or
search terms
e.g. early education,
       early childhoood,
      child development

Consider - Refining your search
                   Is there a date limit?

Do you want research articles only?

Want help - Ask a Librarian
if you are not locating relevant information

Databases recommended for Early Childhood

UCOL Library recommends using these databases for searching articles related to Early Childhood Education

EBSCOhost ~ all subjects This link opens in a new window
Select and Search multiple databases on the EBSCOhost platform for Articles, Journals, eBooks and more.
Database subject areas include: Applied Sciences & Technology, Art and Architecture, ANZ Reference Centre, Business, CINAHL ultimate, Education, Engineering, Environment, ERIC Health source, Hospitality & Tourism, Humanities, LGBTQ+, Library, Medline , Nursing, Psychology, Sociology, Sport & Exercise, Science, Veterinary and Vocational Studies.
Legislation New Zealand (NZ Acts and Regulations) This link opens in a new window
Free access to New Zealand legislation, including NZ Acts, Bills, Regulations, and glossary as well as a guide to using the New Zealand Legislation website.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable collection of over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect College Edition offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.
Standards New Zealand (Full-text) This link opens in a new window
Standards New Zealand database provides full-text, access to NZ Standards (NZS) and joint Australian / NZ Standards (AS/NZS).
You will need to agree to the Terms and Conditions
Subject areas include health and disability, construction and building, environmental management, legal risk, information technology, sport and recreation to name a few.
Login Issues? Please use this help guide
BWB - The Treaty of Waitangi This link opens in a new window
The Treaty of Waitangi Collection brings together leading thinking on this foundational document, including works by acclaimed scholars such as Claudia Orange, Judith Binney, Vincent O’Malley, Alan Ward and Aroha Harris. Designed and managed by award-winning New Zealand publisher Bridget Williams Books, the collection is a living resource backed by a long-term vision for Treaty scholarship into the twenty-first century.