LibGuides: Early Childhood: Video

Getting started

When using video clips or DVDs, as with any resource you use for assignments and study, consider the origins of the information.

Who produced the video or DVD?
Has a valid organisation produced it?
Who made it available for viewing?
How reliable, trustworthy and credible is the source?

Lecturers and tutors want to see you using appropriate resources for your assignments.

Online videos

YouTube
Videos can only be downloaded if they have a Creative Commons license.
To find CC videos, click the “Filter” tab at top left and look for the “Creative commons” option, or use CC Search. To view licence details for a video, click the
"Share" button, then look for "SHOW MORE".

NZOnScreen
NZ On Screen is the online showcase of New Zealand television, film and music video

DVDs available in the Library collection

Borrow DVDs from the Library collection

The Whole child DVD series (2006)
This series gives you information about child development and childcare for the critical years from birth to the age of five. The programs teach you about children's physical, emotional, and cognitive development.
The first years last forever (Brainwave Trust NZ, 2002)
Presented by Judy Bailey.Looks at factors affecting the developmental health of children's brains, both prenatally and in the early years.
The first three years last forever (Brainwave Trust, 2008)
This DVD looks at how loving relationships in the first three years of life affect brain development. It contains simple, evidence-based information for families that can have profound implications for the future of their children. Presented by Shavaughan Ruakere
N0ught to 5ive. Series 2 a guide to the under fives
This series complements series 1 of Nought to five. It is a series of ten programmes dealing with specific ages and stages in this most important period of a person's life. It includes a segment from SPARC's Active Movement advisor, Gill Connell.
Tātai kōrero Maori parenting experiences.
Features interviews with a selected group of Māori parents in both te reo Māori and English and gives their perspectives on how whakapapa, whānau, waiata, and mirimiri support them and their children's learning and development.

ClickView Highlights

ClickView provides a collection of more than 1500 educational videos on a variety of subjects

Videos can be accessed through ClickView online You will need to use your UCOL email address to login.

Empowered to Learn - Infants and Toddlers This video has been produced for early childhood educators in Aotearoa New Zealand. It forms part of a package of materials called Te Whariki: Policy to Practice developed to support Te Whariki: He Whariki Matauranga mo nga Mokopuna o Aotearoa/Early Childhood Curriculum. Empowered to Learn: Te Whariki for infants and Toddlers is the third in a number of videos to be produced in the Te Whariki: Policy to Practice series. Empowered to Learn: Te Whariki for Infants and Toddlers presents a series of scenarios in which teachers demonstrate their use of Te Whariki to develop and implement the curriculum for infants and toddlers.
Empowered to Learn - Young Children This DVD has been produced for early Childhood educators in Aotearo New Zealand. It forms part of a package of materials called Te Whariki: Policy to Practice developed to support Te Whariki: He Whariki Matauranga mo nga Mokopuna o Aotearoa/early Childhood Curriculum. Empowered to learn: Te Whariki for Young Children is the second in a number of DVDs to be produced in the Te Whariki: Policys to Practice Series.Empowered to Learn: Te Whariki for Young Children presents a series of scenarios in which teachers demonstrate their use of Te Whariki to develop and implemnet the curriculum for young children. This DVD format allows viewers to easily stop and discuss and reflect on the issues raised, and it enables viewers to either watch the dvd in its entirety or focus on a single section at a time. The enclosed booklet provides suggestions for workshops discussion and suggested readings that explore the pedagogical practice demonstrated in the DVD.
Erik Erikson: A Life's Work This film introduces students to the wisdom of Erik H. Erikson. Best known for his identification of the eight stages of the life cycle, Erikson spent a lifetime observing and studying the way in which the interplay of genetics, cultural influences and unique experiences produces individual human lives.
Child Development Theorists: Freud to Erikson to Spock Beginning with Sigmund Freud, modern child development theories have changed the way that parents raise their children and the way that teachers teach those children. This programme is an entertaining and enlightening view of the major child development theories, how the theories differ, and how more than one approach can be beneficial. Historical footage and photos are combined with candid documentary footage from day care centers. The theorists covered include Freud, Erikson, Montessori, Piaget, Vygotsky, Maslow, Gessell, Bowlby, Dreikurs, Kohlberg, Skinner,
Growing Minds: Cognitive Development in Early Childhood Nothing in human experience is quite so astonishing as the enormous changes that occur during the five short years that transform the newborn into the actively curious, exploring kindergartner. This film examines the work of Lev Vygotsky and Jean Piaget, illuminating the similarities and differences of their contributions to our understanding of the cognitive development of young children. Dr. Elkind uses their research and his own work to look at three aspects of intellectual growth: reasoning, visual perception and the use of language. Children are seen both in interview situations and busily participating in an accredited child care centre to illustrate Dr. Elkind’s points about their ever-changing intellectual abilities.
Attachment This programme is excellent for a wide range of training purposes for foster carers, parents groups, child minders, social work and for those people who work with children. It is also an excellent resource for under-graduate and post graduate studies in both academic and applied psychology. Attachment includes both historical and current research methods and models of attachment behaviour.
How I Learn: Ages and Stages of Child Development Meet preschool children of all ages as they experience the social, emotional, physical and intellectual milestones of typical early childhood development. Packed full of information, this little documentary about little people features entertaining footage of children, parents, caregivers, archival film footage, and a teen childcare worker who pulls it all together.

eTV

eTV This link opens in a new window
eTV provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. eTV includes TV recordings from Free to Air, Sky and international television channels, the entire Archives New Zealand, along with other educational content in many subject areas.

To access eTV UCOL, use your UCOL email address.

It is recommended that you use the following browsers: Firefox, Chrome or Safari when viewing eTV.

Lost in Translation Series - Mike King A ten-part series that is part-personal odyssey, part-quest for understanding and part-excuse for a few laughs. Lost in Translation finds comedian Mike King looking for descendants of signatories and people who have neat yarns about the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi.
Just The Job Season 5 - Early Childhood Teaching Early childhood teaching is a career that can offer opportunities throughout New Zealand and Hannah Vickers from Otago Girls High School is keen to visit a local Dunedin kindergarten to find out more about this rewarding vocation.

Early Childhood: Video

Getting started

Online videos

DVDs available in the Library collection

ClickView Highlights

eTV

Other UCOL Video Resources