LibGuides: Mental Health & Wellbeing: Databases

Getting Started

These databases assist you to find articles in serials / journals.

1 Create a search strategy using key words

2 Select the most relevant database

3 Try different search terms

4 Refine your search using the date, language, publisher etc... limiters on the left hand side of the database.

5 Ask a librarian for help if you are not locating useful information and come to a database workshop.

Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]

How to do research?

Choose a research topic
Create a search strategy using keywords
Find information, e.g., databases, ebooks, websites, Google Scholar and print resources
Evaluate information. Check for: Authority: Does the information come from a a reliable source? Accuracy: Can the information be verified by a credible source? Relevance: Does the information meet your specific needs and it is within your research scope? Objective: Is the information free from bias or hidden agendas? Currency: Is the information up to date?
Cite your resources using APA referencing

Reseach Tips

List of Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Ministry of Health provides free access within New Zealand to The Cochrane Collaboration, which is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
eBook Collection ~ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
eBooks from the EBSCOhost Collection includes all eBooks in the EBSCO database collections.
EBSCOhost ~ all subjects This link opens in a new window
Select and Search multiple databases on the EBSCOhost platform for Articles, Journals, eBooks and more.
Database subject areas include: Applied Sciences & Technology, Art and Architecture, ANZ Reference Centre, Business, CINAHL ultimate, Education, Engineering, Environment, ERIC Health source, Hospitality & Tourism, Humanities, LGBTQ+, Library, Medline , Nursing, Psychology, Sociology, Sport & Exercise, Science, Veterinary and Vocational Studies.
Gale - all subjects This link opens in a new window
Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, computer science, fine arts, diversity studies, entrepreneurship, health and medicine, leadership management, nursing and allied health, physical therapy and sports medicine, and science databases. Also included are Environmental Studies in Context, Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and Science in Context.
Legislation New Zealand (NZ Acts and Regulations) This link opens in a new window
Free access to New Zealand legislation, including NZ Acts, Bills, Regulations, and glossary as well as a guide to using the New Zealand Legislation website.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection ~ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.