Take a look now at all your notes and brainstorms. Ask yourself these questions:
These are the areas that you now need to research.
You lecturer will have given you a list of required text books you are expected to use throughout your course. These books are specifically chosen because they have the kind of information at the right academic level that you will need to succeed in your course. You should ensure that you include these books in your assignment references where appropriate.
In addition to the required books, your lecturer may have given you a list of recommended reading. This is also an excellent source of information and, because your lecturer has chosen them, they will be expecting to see these in your reference lists as well.
The library has a number of subject guides that contain a variety of suggestions regarding books in the library collection, online information the library has access to, useful websites and video clips. The subject guides are a great place to get ideas on where to search for information on your subject.
Subject guides can be accessed through the library website:
New subject guides are added from time to time and existing guides are regularly updated. So make sure you check them out occasionally. The current list of subject guides is:
Visiting the library is a great place to find information. You library has a carefully selected collection of books, journals and online material.
The library opening hours are Monday to Friday 8am-5pm (Palmerston North and Whanganui Campuses) and Monday to Friday 9am - 4.30pm (Wairarapa Campus).
The services your library provides are:
If you are having problems finding what you need, want help with APA referencing or using the databases, you are welcome to come to the library desk where one of the librarians will assist you.
The academic databases provided by the library, are an excellent source of information that is suitable for all your assignment needs. Most of the information on the databases has been peer reviewed, so are reliable and trustworthy sources for you to use.
The databases can be accessed through the library website.
To learn more about how to use the databases, click on the Basic searching techniques tab at the top of this guide.