Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Assignment Resources

A guide to information resources for nursing

Study skills help

There is lots of help available at UCOL to assist you with your study skills - time management, revising, essay writing, research skills, referencing and more.  For information about these services check out these links

Learning services

Before starting your assignment.

  • Read the assignment instructions carefully so you fully understand what the task involves.
  • Read the marking criteria.
  • Clarify instructions with your lecturer if unsure.
  • Check to see if the information needed can be found in your text book.

Useful assignment resources

Covers theories, principles and skills in patient education and health promotion, emphasises the importance of the nurse-client relationship and focuses on the role nurses play in educating individuals, families and groups in clinical settings..

Comprehensive resource that covers nursing skills and procedures that cross the nursing curriculum and can be used in clinical, or the skills laboratory.The authors teach through extensive case studies and critical thinking features, and thoroughly explain the rationales for each skill and technique. Strong coverage of evidence-based care, cultural/religious considerations, nursing management, and community based nursing is provided throughout.

This book provides an introduction to the concepts of therapeutic communication across the lifespan within the New Zealand environment, and is informed by current issues and debate, designed to encourage critical thinking and reflection. Health and wellness issues are covered from the perspective of patients and professionals." See chapter 14 for cultural difference, cultural competence, and cultural safety, chapter 15 for professional boundaries. Includes key terms and definitions.

 An easy-to-use text with a strong focus on the principles of primary health care that underpin community health and wellness. It encourages readers to consider the health of individuals and populations in their personal, family and community environments. This book incorporates contemporary thinking and research in community health and wellness from Australia, New Zealand and the global community.

This text provides comprehensive coverage of the key ideas underpinning contemporary nursing practice in Australia and New Zealand.

A comprehensive gerontological nursing text that effectively communicates how to provide holistic care, promote healthy lives, and address end-of-life issues and concerns. It covers the areas of safety and ethical considerations, genetics, communication with the patient and caregiver, promoting health in persons with conditions commonly occurring in later-life world-wide addressing loss and palliative care and more.

Assignment resources

Below are some useful websites to help with your assignment topics.

 Below are some great databases for finding images and information.

Below is a useful database for finding information on teaching and learning topics.