LibGuides: Nursing: Websites

Getting started

Use this evaluation ABC checklist when searching for information on the Internet.

Authority

Is the information from a reliable source? Does the author have appropriate qualifications, background and knowledge of the subject? Where is the document published and who has published it? Check the accuracy - how does the site compare to other sources?

Check the web site address (URL = uniform resource locator)to verify the origin of the site

.govt or .gov = government

. org = non-profit organization

. co or .com = commercial

.ac or .edu = academic/ educational

Bias

Why do you think the information was written? What opinions if any are expressed by the author? Does it provide a balanced view of the topic or is there an obvious bias promoted by the puiblisher or author? Who is the intended audience? Where is the document published?

Currency

When was the information written or recorded? Is the information up to date for the topic? Are the site links up-to-date, are they relevant and do they work?

Google search

Nursing and Health websites

This sample of health and nursing websites is taken from the complete A-Z version of UCOL Library's 'Useful Websites' section here.

Best Practice Advocacy Centre New Zealand
The Best Practice Advocacy Centre New Zealand (bpacnz) is an independent, not-for-profit organisation. Our role is to deliver educational and continuing professional development programmes to medical practitioners and other health professional groups throughout New Zealand. BPACNZ advocates for best practice in healthcare treatments and investigations across a wide range of health service delivery.
Carers' Net
Established in the early 1990s by family carers, Carers NZ is now a national registered charity which provides information, advice, learning and support for families with health and disability needs. It is the Secretariat for the NZ Carers Alliance, and acts as the legal umbrella for a number of special interest groups. Our Caring Community section offers links to many organisations that offer local support to carers and their families.
The College of Nurses Aotearoa (NZ)
One of our main aims is to provide a voice for the nursing profession as a whole, speaking out on issues that affect not just nurses, but the health of the whole community. We monitor and influence policies and legislation on these issues.
Disabled Persons Assembly New Zealand
DPA provides an active, independent voice that reflects members' needs, concerns and rights. Every disabled person is listened to, as are all organisations within our disability community. We make sure our members are able to keep up with the disability issues that affect them in Aotearoa New Zealand and overseas.
Eldernet
The Eldernet site includes a nationwide database directory and information about: community groups and organisations, retirement and lifestyle villages and living, home help services, respite care and short term options, aged care services, rest homes, residential care, private hospitals, dementia care, public hospitals and other third age services for seniors.
Enable
Enable New Zealand will facilitate and deliver quality access to resources for people with identified health and disability support needs. Enable New Zealand is an operating division of MidCentral District Health Board.
Evidence Based Nursing
"We scan over 100 journals and around 50,000 articles a year to identify the most important and valid articles, saving you all important time to concentrate on other things." Journal website includes articles and podcasts, along with a blog and discussion forum.
Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body (1918)
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Healthline Body Maps
BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. With easy-to-use navigation, users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works. A board-certified physician reviews every original article that contains medical information for accuracy, appropriateness of medical language, and proper characterization of the findings.
Ministry of Health
The Government's principal advisor on health and disability: improving, promoting and protecting the health of all New Zealanders.
Ministry of Health Statistics and data sets
Health statistics
New Zealand Government
Gateway to all Government Departments.
Nursing Council
Nursing Council of New Zealand
Te Rūnanga o Aotearoa
Te Rūnanga o Aotearoa (Te Rūnanga), alongside our Te Tiriti o Waitangi partner, the New Zealand Nurses Organisation (NZNO), represents Māori health professional members.

Evaluating Web Resources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly (academic) literature across many disciplines and sources.