Skip to Main Content

Nursing: Assignment Resources

A guide to information resources for nursing

Study skills help

There is lots of help available at UCOL to assist you with your study skills - time management, revising, essay writing, research skills, referencing and more.  For information about these services check out these links

Learning services

Before starting your assignment.

  • Read the assignment instructions carefully so you fully understand what the task involves.
  • Read the marking criteria.
  • Clarify instructions with your lecturer if unsure.
  • Check to see if the information needed can be found in your text book.

Tiriti o Waitangi - Treaty of Waitangi

The Treaty of Waitangi​

The Treaty of Waitangi Collection brings together leading thinking on this foundational document, including works by acclaimed scholars such as Claudia Orange, Judith Binney, Vincent O’Malley, Alan Ward and Aroha Harris. Designed and managed by award-winning New Zealand publisher Bridget Williams Books, the Collection is a living resource backed by a long-term vision for Treaty scholarship into the twenty-first century.

 

Click here to view the full Bridget Williams Books - Collections​​

 

Assignment Resources: Web Sites and Databases

Below are some useful websites to help with your assignment topics.

 Below are some great databases for finding images and information.

Below is a useful database for finding information on teaching and learning topics.

Useful Assignment Resources: Books and eBooks

This book provides an introduction to the concepts of therapeutic communication across the lifespan within the New Zealand environment, and is informed by current issues and debate, designed to encourage critical thinking and reflection. Health and wellness issues are covered from the perspective of patients and professionals." See chapter 14 for cultural difference, cultural competence, and cultural safety, chapter 15 for professional boundaries. Includes key terms and definitions.

 An easy-to-use text with a strong focus on the principles of primary health care that underpin community health and wellness. It encourages readers to consider the health of individuals and populations in their personal, family and community environments. This book incorporates contemporary thinking and research in community health and wellness from Australia, New Zealand and the global community.

Also available as an e-book  here Community Health and Wellness

This text provides comprehensive coverage of the key ideas underpinning contemporary nursing practice in Australia and New Zealand.

A comprehensive gerontological nursing text that effectively communicates how to provide holistic care, promote healthy lives, and address end-of-life issues and concerns. It covers the areas of safety and ethical considerations, genetics, communication with the patient and caregiver, promoting health in persons with conditions commonly occurring in later-life world-wide addressing loss and palliative care and more.

UCOL is part of Te Pūkenga - New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Learn More

Learn with purpose

Explore Te Pūkenga

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Copyright © 2022 UCOL